The Scout Troop was started in 1943 by Mr Biddle in a hut in his own garden. This in itself is unusual, possibly unique, because although the tide of the Second World War was turning, many groups were struggling to continue due to leaders being called up. A Cub Pack was formed by Mrs Lickfold. The group was formed and later moved to larger, rented premises in Spelthorne School, the cost being one shilling per meeting. The group lost the services of Mr Biddle and Mrs Lickfold during 1947/48. A Scoutmaster’s warrant was granted to Mr R F Sheppard in 1949.
A group committee was formed on August 23rd 1945 and on the 10th June 1950 a new HQ, ‘Rowland Hall’, an ex-army hut, was opened on a piece of land to the side of the Queen Mary Reservoir, Ashford. The HQ was named after the Chairman, Mr E Rowlands. A lease was made between the group and the Metropolitan Water Board in 1968 for 0.19 acres on which to build a new headquarters. Through tireless fundraising instigated by former Treasurer Joe Dunford, the group were able to move into their new building, ‘Dunford Hall’ on the 23rd January 1971, next to the Queen Mary Reservoir at the other end of Ashford Road, where we still reside today.